Learning Monk Blog

About Data, Visualizations and my Learning journey

17 Sep 2020

Being an introvert

I don’t want to bore you with the technical definition of introvert. Rather, I would like to take you through a journey of how an introvert thinks, feels, works which makes you ponder over what it is being an introvert.

My first taste of understanding the definition of introversion came from Susan Cain after listening to her Ted talk (video below). By the way, if you haven’t read her book Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking, please give it a read, you won’t regret.

The power of introverts

Till then, I was happy being different. After listening to her, I started appreciating the gift of being an introvert. The only reason for writing this article is to share my learning journey of understanding introversion and do my bit to spread awareness about being an introvert.

Let me start by saying, it is not your fault. In fact, if you look positively, it is your biggest strength. Unfortunately, we live in a world which is extroverted and appreciates someone being loud and outward. Introversion is often looked upon as a sign of weakness.

Every now and then, you get unsolicited advice from people around you asking you to change the way you are to make your mark in the society. The reason they give you for such advice is, world around you doesn’t appreciate calm and quiet individuals. You have to make noise to get noticed. Well, I got similar advises many times. I have only one answer to all those people, being an introvert is not a disease. In fact, our brains are wired differently than our extroverted counterparts. Once you understand this fact, you won’t offer unnecessary advises.

OK, enough of ranting. Let me quote two of my favorite people who are introverted by nature but made real big in life and quietly making their way through this noisy world. I really hope this will give you enough courage to appreciate who you truly are.

Elon Musk story is quite an inspiring one. He does enjoy what he does. If he believes in an idea, no matter how critical the feedback is, he will go ahead with his idea. Be it sending rockets into space or designing tunnels for intercity travel. A fascinating personality.

“I think that’s the single best piece of advice: constantly think about how you could be doing things better and questioning yourself.” - Elon Musk

Steve Wozniak is another inspiring personality. The backbone behind Apple. But, he shuns being in the limelight and happily gave the spotlight to Steve Jobs. He worked quietly in the background and played a major part in Apple’s success story.

“In the end, I hope there’s a little note somewhere that says I designed a good computer.” - Steve Wozniak

Introverts usually like working alone and shuns publicity, but they are not shy. Whenever their team is struggling and requires a dose of motivation, they step-up and inspire them. They know how to extract best work from an individual without intimidating. They are excellent listeners which makes them great leaders.

Finally, before closing the article, let me reiterate that there is grand reason why the world is filled with people with so many different personalities. No two people are exactly the same in personality. All we have to do is, be a little accommodating and respect each other.

Note: The views expressed in this article are entirely mine. Feel free to provide constructive feedback.